Arkansas State Music Teachers Association BOARD MEETING MINUTES, June 6, 2014

Called to order by President Lisa Miller, 12:25

Minutes from the November meeting were not available to be read. Naoki Hakutani will be asked to submit them and they will be emailed to the membership for review.

Treasurer's Report, John Krebs: Budget stable. See report.

President's Report: See report submitted by Lisa Miller.

Vice President's Report:

- 1. See report submitted by May Tsao-Lim.
- A motion was made to pay for webmaster Chaz Allen's membership and travel expenses to the ASMTA Conference and November Board Meeting each year. This was tabled until a more specific budget that includes mileage can be presented.
- 3. Advertising on Website: 2 proposals:
 - a. Increase to 5 Vendors for Tier 1
 - b. Increase discount to 20% for Combination B

Both proposals were passed.

4. 2nd Vice President will be asked to solicit advertising for ads year round.

Committee Reports:

Open positions:

MTNA Composition Competition Coordinator

Librarian: Might discontinue. Will be voted on in November

Newsletter Editor: Membership:

Membership: Priscilla Kjorlaug reported that there will be an Incentive Program sponsored by MTNA. A fifty dollar prize will be awarded to the association who gains the most new members. At the next MTNA conference that prize will be awarded to the president of that association.

Foundation Fellow: Lauren Schack Clark was nominated.

State Contest: Dr. Kelly 55 students participating 23 studios represented

Festivals: See report submitted by Jeanne Hurst.

- Jeanne Hurst thanked Linda Kennedy for making up all Theory tests and answer sheets, 3 versions. Someone should send her a thank-you note.
- A motion was passed to increase student fees at both the Region and State Festivals from \$15 per student to \$20 per student.
- Jeanne submitted a list of Recommendations for changes to the Festival Repertoire List.
- Lisa Miller suggested a new committee should be formed for Repertoire changes, with the following members:

Mark Smidt Lauren Schack Clark Janine Tiner Sabrina Shivley Carolyn Setliff Carol Houston Jeanne Hurst Lisa Miller

(addendum from after-conference email: May Tsao-Lim will assign duties to the above members and the members of the previous Repertoire Committee, so that the new syllabus can be placed on the Website.)

- Lisa Miller asked for volunteers for a Written Theory Committee, so that the tests can be redone.
- It was suggested that for now, we should go by the Repertoire Syllabus that is currently online, to avoid confusion. Then additions can be added later. It was decided that this list, along with NFMC cross-listings, will be the official Repertoire Syllabus until changes suggested by the committee are approved.

Respectfully submitted by Lauren Schack Clark