# Arkansas State Music Teachers Association BOARD MEETING MINUTES, June 5, 2015

Called to order by President May Tsao-Lim; 12:15

Minutes from the November 2014 meeting were distributed and approved.

**Treasurer's Report**, John Krebs: \$18,944.85 balance. CD \$15,089.59 as of 5/29/15. See report.

**President's Report:** See report submitted by May Tsao-Lim.

Job descriptions were added to the By-Laws and are included in today's report.

o QUESTION: Allow non-members to participate in ASMTA events

Fee increase

Encourage Non-piano members.

Tabled to be researched and be brought before the next meeting

MOTION: Ginger Crippen SECOND: Sherry Mashburn

- Online Repertoire to be demonstrated at General Session June 6, 2015.
   Ad hoc Repertoire Committee: Lisa Miller and Linda Calhoun
   Any new music that needs to be added or music that is out of print is to be reported for changes.
- Ad hoc Theory and Ear Training Committee: Dr. Brian Henkleman and Ms. Jennifer Amox.
   Reorganize and coordinate changes. To be added to the ASMTA website.
- O QUESTION: Linda Rogers recommended that Levels 8, 9 and 10 Runners Up be invited to the

state auditions.

Need to research number of applicants with Jeanne Hurst

Tabled to be researched and be brought before the next meeting

MOTION: Linda Calhoun SECOND: Sherry Mashburn

### 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: See report submitted by Priscilla Kjorlaug

 Proposed conference registration fee be increased due to the costs rising for conference facilities

\$35 members

\$40 for non-members

\$20 collegiate members

MOTION: Lauren Schack Clark SECOND: Danny Morrison

#### PASSED BY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- Vendors at conference discussion
  - Fees
  - Small Businesses
  - New Publications
  - Guidelines
  - Other Organization i.e. band and choir

AD HOC COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN APPOINTED: DR. LAUREN SCHACK CLARK

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: See report submitted by Dr. Naoki Hakutani

## **STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

Certification: Dr. J.D. Kelley

o 46 Certified teachers

College Chapters: See report submitted by Dr. Lauren Schack Clark

- Arkansas State University
- University of Arkansas, Little Rock

**College Faculty:** See report submitted by Dr. Linda Holzer

Arts Advocacy & Awareness: Dr. Naoki Hakutani

Grants available

Historian: Naoma McCartney, Chair

- Archive of photos
- Submit to Chaz Allen (webmaster)

Independent Music Teachers Forum: Linda Calhoun, Chair

o 7:30 am Meeting in Choir Room June 6, 2015

**Local Associations:** New chair Mark Smidt will invite Marcia Colonius (a Louisiana MTA teacher who recently relocated to Magnolia) to be Region G chair. Marcia was recommended by the former Local Associations chair, Beth Anne Rankin.

Membership: See report submitted by Priscilla Kjorlaug

- MTA of the Delta is the recipient of the 1<sup>st</sup> annual award for having the most new members. This
  includes a cash prize of \$50 and a plaque.
- Membership chair to be appointed in each local chapter

MTNA Competitions: See report submitted by Dr. Adam Haas

 Dr. Adam Haas will replace Lowella Cherry as the chair of MTNA Junior competitions starting Fall 2015.

MTNA Foundation Fund: See report submitted by Ginger Crippen

Nomination of Ouida Keck for ASMTA fellow

MOTION: Sharon Ard SECOND: Linda Rogers

PASSED BY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Website: See report submitted by Chaz Allen

Publicity: Chair, Dr. Naoki Hakutani – No Report

State Auditions: See report submitted by Dr. J. D. Kelly

o 52 students at this conference

Representing 18 teachers

**Teacher of the Year:** Dr. Christopher Thompson

Danny Morrison was honored at the banquet

MTNA Composition Competitions: See report submitted by Dr. Adam Haas

Festival: See report submitted by Jeanne Hurst

Composer Commissioning: See report submitted by Dr. Timothy Smith

Awaiting contract from Paul Dickinson

**Collaborative Performance:** See report submitted by Dr. Lauren Schack Clark

**Chamber Music:** Dr. Sarah Hones-Hays – No report

**Wellness:** See report submitted by Dr. Linda Holzer

## **NEW BUSINESS**

All new business was tabled to the November 7, 2015 meeting at University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Meeting was dismissed at 1:00 p.m.

Submitted by Linda M. Calhoun, Secretary