COVID-19 updates:Conferences are canceled until further notice.  Please stay safe.

MTNA AR Competition Results

2017 Arkansas MTNA Competition results

State Winner List
Place Name Instrument Teacher(s) Accompanist
Junior Piano - 3 entries
Winner Aaron Liu Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Alternate Nikita Rohila Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Honorable mention Zachary Lam Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Junior String - 3 entries
Winner Caleb Yu Violin Andrew Irvin  
Alternate Harry Lance Violin Andrew Irvin Dee Lance
Honorable mention Judah Joo Violin Tatiana Kotcherguina Laura Cruse
Senior Brass - 1 entry
Representative Harrison Downs* Trombone Michael Underwood Leann Hatley
*Went on to win 3rd place in MTNA National Senior Brass Competition
Senior Piano - 2 entries
Winner Tian Lam Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Alternate Noah Smith Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Senior String - 2 entries
Winner Samuel Leonard Cello Donna Davis AR
Alternate Anna Nuttle Violin Elizabeth Lyon-Ballay Julie Nuttle
Senior Woodwind - 4 entries
Winner Benjamin Johns Clarinet Kelly Johnson Kazuo Murakami
Alternate Zachary Lynn Bassoon Dale Clark Dr. Lauren Schack Clark
Young Artist Brass - 3 entries
Winner Paden Sharp Trombone Justin Cook Kazuo Murakami
Alternate Hannah Brown Horn Brent Shires Terrie Shires
Young Artist Piano - 1 entry
Representative Ethan Day Piano Naoki Hakutani  
Young Artist Voice - 1 entry
Representative Crystal Kachevas Voice-Soprano Marika Kyriakos Emily Jenkins
Young Artist Woodwind - 5 entries
Winner Dahre Miller Clarinet Kelly Johnson Kazuo Murakami
Alternate Benjamin Facundo Saxophone Andy Peeks Michael Womack
Chamber Music Wind - 2 entries
Winner C-Four   Jackie Lamar  
  Landon Cole Soprano Saxophone
  Carlos Udave Alto Saxophone
  Jacob Mitchell Tenor Saxophone
  Brayden Fisher Baritone Saxophone
Alternate Red Wolves Bassoon Quartet   Dale Clark  
  Taylor Gambill Bassoon
  Lane Hall Bassoon
  Brianna Allen Bassoon
  Zach Lynn Bassoon
Elementary Composition - 1 entry
Representative Ethan Chen   Linda Kennedy  
Junior Composition - 2 entries
Winner Ann Gao   Linda Kennedy  
Senior Composition - 2 entries
Winner Samuel Leonard   Carl Van Wyk  

2016 MTNA South Central Division Competitions Laureates from Arkansas



Woodwind, Alternate: Noah Smith, Bassoon, student of Kenneth Futterer (and son of Tim Smith)

Piano, Honorable Mention: Tian Lam, student of Naoki Hakutani


Piano, Honorable Mention: Chi Zhang, student of Naoki Hakutani

Young Artist

Brass, Winner: Cody Hutchinson, Euphonium, student of Ed Owen (will compete at Nationals at MTNA Conference in San Antonio in April 2016)

Woodwind, Honorable Mention: Rafael Powell III, Saxophone, student of Steve Becraft

Chamber Music

Woodwind, Honorable Mention: The Arkansas State University Bassoon Quartet (Taylor Gambill, Lane Hall, Nathan Liouh, Brianna Allen), students of Dale Clark

Sponsored Ad

FJH Music Ad

What's Up?

<< October 2021 >>
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

No current events found.